Living in the Cloud

Over the last few years, there have been many discussions and comedies about what happens in “the cloud.” Just this week, I took a huge leap into the cloud by entrusting it with 3,000 photos from my iPhone. As technologically savvy as I like to think I am, this was still a highly worrisome quandary. But after weeks of thinking it over, my iPhone now has 7 extra GB of space and Google Photos is now the home of 2 years of my life in photos.

pink-clouds
Pink Clouds

Cloud technology is effecting every part of our lives and it is even effecting the way teachers plan lessons in their classrooms. Think about just one site for the moment: Google. Students can create documents, presentations, and photo albums in Google, and instantly share them with classmates and the teacher.  Feedback happens within just a few minutes with cloudware technology and that in itself makes learning more efficient.

whispy-beach-clouds
Whispy Sunset Clouds

The cloud has also made the world we live in a highly collaborative locale. Students today aren’t aware that we, human beings, used to be much more private entities. We didn’t need constant feedback and approval on every aspect of our lives, but that is all this new generation of learners knows. Instead of fighting what has now become human nature, teachers need to embrace all the possibilities that come with cloud based technology.

globe-balls_jason-wilson_flickr
Globe balls” by jason wilson is licensed under CC BY 2.0

The fact that a teacher can connect his or her classroom with a classroom across the globe, with just the click of the mouse, is truly amazing. The amount of resources (they increase everyday) that teachers have at the push of a button is jaw-dropping, and that is one reason teachers need to join their own collaborative groups to stay current with today’s ever-evolving technological landscape. It’s becoming more and more obvious that one teacher can’t do it all alone, so we will need to learn to work together to ensure today’s students have the most dynamic learning environment possible.

5 thoughts on “Living in the Cloud

  1. Another great article from my new favorite blogger! 🙂 I can totally relate to giving it up to the cloud. I wish my experience was as seamless as yours. Prior to upgrading to from a 4s to a 5s recently, I made sure I synced my iphone with my laptop and my cloud. I went and purchased the phone from a friend, came home, plugged it into my computer and BAM… “cannot sync with phone because software update is out of date.” NOOOOOO! But, I did everything correctly! I shouldn’t lose all my contacts or have to imput them manually, AGAIN! Ugh. Sometimes technology is a wonderful resource, other times, I want to smash it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As Alena stated, I also enjoy reading your blogs. I’ve already commented on two others but felt compelled to mention your first hyperlink (comedies). I’ve not watched that video but I’ll be sure to check NetFlix for it! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another great post Jennifer. I am learning by reading your posts and following the links that you add. I was able to figure out how to add links and incorporated that in my blog. Great sharing and learning. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment